Broker Check

Blog

Monday, January 23, 2023

Stocks showed mixed results last week as recession fears resurfaced in response to weak economic data and a tepid start to a new corporate earnings season.  The Dow Jones Industrial Average skidded 2.70%, while the Standard &...

Tuesday, January 17, 2023

Stocks rallied last week thanks to fresh confirmation of inflation’s cooling trend and growing optimism that an inflation slowdown may provide the Fed with space to ease up on future rate hikes.The Dow Jones Industrial Average...

Monday, January 9, 2023

A strong Friday rally triggered by fresh signs of moderating inflation pushed stocks into positive territory to begin the new year. The Dow Jones Industrial Average rose 1.46%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 advanced 1.45%....

Thursday, January 5, 2023

In a holiday-shortened week, erratic trading left stocks marginally down for the week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average lost 0.17%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 slipped 0.14%. The Nasdaq Composite index fell 0.30%. The MSCI...

Tuesday, December 20, 2022

Hawkish comments by the Fed and weak economic data heightened investors’ recession concerns and sent stocks lower last week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average lost 1.66%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 retreated 2.08%. The...

Show All

Monday, December 12, 2022

Recession fears and concerns that the Fed may consider a longer rate-hike cycle sent stocks lower for the week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average dropped 2.77%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 fell 3.37%. The Nasdaq Composite index...

Tuesday, December 6, 2022

Stocks ended higher last week as investors navigated the crosscurrents of a potential easing in future rate hikes and continued strength in the labor market.The Dow Jones Industrial Average edged 0.24% higher, while the Standard &...

Monday, November 28, 2022

Growing optimism that the Fed may be ready to ease future interest rate hikes sent stocks higher in a quiet trading week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average gained 1.78%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 added 1.53%. The Nasdaq...

Monday, November 14, 2022

A cooling inflation number ignited a powerful rally on Thursday, sending stocks to strong gains for the week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average gained 4.15%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 added 5.90%. The Nasdaq Composite index...

Monday, November 7, 2022

Weekly RecapOctober 24-28, 2022 RecapMomentum Extends Another WeekStocks AdvanceU.S. stocks powered higher for a second weekly gain driven higher on earnings relief mostly centered in value-based companies. Growth-oriented companies...

Monday, October 31, 2022

Stocks overcame poor earnings results from some of America’s largest companies to post gains last week as investors cheered positive earnings surprises, easing inflation and a rebound in economic growth.The Dow Jones Industrial...

Tuesday, October 25, 2022

A positive start to a new earnings season and late-week hopes for a near-term easing in Fed rate hikes lifted investors’ spirits and powered stocks to gains for the week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average jumped 4.89%, while the...

Tuesday, October 18, 2022

Weekly RecapOctober 10-14, 2022 RecapStocks Weaken on Persistent InflationWild Week Ends Moderately Lower U.S. stocks ended mostly lower last week even as the S&P 500 captured a monumental turnaround on Thursday, reversing a 2.39%...

Tuesday, October 11, 2022

A powerful two-day stock rebound cemented a positive week for investors as a new trading month began.The Dow Jones Industrial Average rose 1.99%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 added 1.51%. The Nasdaq Composite index increased 0...

Monday, August 1, 2022

Undaunted by another Fed rate hike and news of a contracting economy, the stock market rallied last week on better-than-expected corporate earnings.The Dow Jones Industrial Average increased 2.97%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500...

Tuesday, July 19, 2022

A record-high inflation report, the prospects of a more aggressive Fed, and growing recession fears sent stocks lower– though losses were pared by a Friday rally.The Dow Jones Industrial Average slipped 0.16%, while the Standard...

Monday, July 11, 2022

In a holiday-shortened trading week, stocks rallied despite mixed economic data and vacillating energy prices and bond yields.The Dow Jones Industrial Average increased 0.77%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 rose 1.94%. The...

Monday, June 27, 2022

Prospects of cooling inflation powered a rally in stock prices last week despite growing recession concerns.The Dow Jones Industrial Average gained 5.39%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 climbed 6.45%. The Nasdaq Composite index...

Tuesday, June 21, 2022

Stocks moved lower last week as recession fears deepened following a Fed hike in interest rates and weak economic data.The Dow Jones Industrial Average fell 4.79%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 dropped 5.79%. The Nasdaq...

Monday, March 28, 2022

Monday, March 21, 2022

Tuesday, March 15, 2022

Thursday, March 10, 2022

Monday, January 24, 2022

Tuesday, January 18, 2022

Monday, January 10, 2022

Monday, January 3, 2022

Monday, December 20, 2021